The Powerful Connection…

Between Chakras and Organs of the Body

Kathleen Karlsen
May – Jun 2024 • Vol 4, No 10

Each of the organs in the human body are associated with one or more of the seven major chakras or energy centers. This connection gives keys to creating optimal health on both energetic and physical levels. The chakras and their corresponding organs can be stimulated and balanced using mantras, acupuncture, meditation, visualization, herbs, yoga practice, and other forms of exercise.

Root Chakra, Grounding and the Organs of Elimination

The root chakra is the place where we process and transform energy, thoughts, and experiences related to security, safety, and personal and ancestral history. The root chakra is connected to the earth and helps with grounding in your environment. This chakra is associated with the following parts of the body:

  • legs
  • hips
  • lower spine
  • colon
  • bladder

These areas of the body establish balance and stability, providing a strong foundation for physical health and a platform for your presence in the world.

Sacral Chakra, Relationships and Reproductive Organs

The sacral chakra is focused on relationships. This includes one’s relationship with oneself as well as others. The sacral chakra is known in Sanskrit as Svadhishthana, meaning “one’s own place.” This chakra is the realm of communication, exchange, and finances. If this energy is used improperly, addiction to sex or gambling can result. Most significantly, the sacral chakra is the center of reproductive ability. On the psychological level, it is also the seat of artistic creation. The organs associated with the sacral chakra include:

  • reproductive organs
  • lower back
  • hips
  • kidneys

Solar Plexus Chakra and Organs of Transformation

The solar plexus chakra governs the power of transformation and assimilation. This chakra is the center of digestion of food on the physical level as well as the digestion of thoughts and emotions on the mental and emotional levels. The solar plexus is the fire center of the body, often symbolized by the colors yellow or red and a sun-like image.          In addition, the solar plexus is the center of gut-level intuition. In the physical realm, the solar plexus is associated with the following organs:

  • pancreas
  • liver
  • stomach
  • adrenals

Heart Chakra and Organs Sustaining Life

In the spiritual dimension, many traditions believe that the spark of life resides in an inner chamber associated with the heart. In the Western religious tradition, this inner chamber is called the inner castle or secret chamber of the heart. In the Eastern tradition, this inner heart is referred to as Brahma’s Cave. Again, this is a place where an eternal spark resides, unmoved by outer events. The ability to retreat into the inner places of the heart may be a critical skill in our fast-paced modern world.

Traditions around the world place great importance on the significance of the heart. Many believe the heart has emotional significance as well as spiritual meaning. The physical organs associated with the heart chakra are the following:

  • the heart itself
  • circulatory system
  • lungs

Throat Chakra and the Organs of Power

There is a legend that goes as follows: when the human body was being created, God was trying to figure out where to put the power center so that His creations would not misuse this energy. So, the power center was hidden in plain sight—in the throat. In this position, we would qualify energy for blessing or bane with every word spoken. Thus, the throat is our greatest vulnerability and greatest strength. The physical organs associated with the throat chakra are the following:

  • thyroid gland
  • vocal chords
  • trachea and esophagus

Third-Eye Chakra and Organs of Perception

The pineal gland is the organ associated with the third-eye chakra that receives the most attention. However, there are several organs associated with this chakra. There is overlap for chakras that are close in vicinity and this is true for the third eye and crown chakras. The organs associated with the third eye all function to bring in sensation for interpretation by the brain. These organs include the following:

  • pineal gland
  • eyes
  • ears
  • endocrine system

Crown Chakra and Organs of Mastery

The crown chakra is revered as the seat of enlightenment. This chakra is symbolized by the thousand-petaled lotus of wisdom. In addition to the third eye, there is also some overlap between the organs associated with the crown chakra. In the East, the lotus is a revered symbol for the gentle opening of consciousness, petal by petal. On the physical level, the crown chakra is related to the following organs:

  • brain
  • nervous system
  • hair and skin
  • hypothalamus
  • pituitary gland

Understanding the connection between the energy centers of chakras in your body and your physical organs can provide a crucial key to optimal health. Keeping these chakras balanced and strong can also aid in the stability and strength needed to support healthy relationships, abundant finances, and ongoing, positive engagement in life.

Related Videos:

Chakra Chant Meditation:

Root Chakra Symbol Meaning:

Sanskrit Chakra Names:

Online Resources:

Over a dozen articles on the chakras, including chakra sounds, essential oils for the chakras, healing stones for the chakras, Sanskrit chakra names, and more at: