Discover the Ancient History and Mythology of the Most Beloved Flowers

Kathleen Karlsen
July – August 2023 • Vol 4, No 5

You Know the Chakras—Their Symbols, Sounds, and Meanings. Now Discover the Ancient History and Mythology of the World’s Most Beloved FLOWERS and Their Associations with Each of the Chakras.

Discover the meaning and significance of each chakra through their associated flowers! Flowers are among the oldest spiritual symbols. Sacred flowers exist in nearly every culture and spiritual tradition. For example, the lotus is a metaphor in the Hindu tradition for the flowering of consciousness. Other flowers can serve as beautiful visualizations for each of the seven major chakras.

Root Chakra Flowers
The root chakra is often associated with the color red. Thus, poppies, peonies and poinsettia are clear favorites as root chakra flowers. In a purified state, the root chakra is thought to be white. Thus, white flowers can also symbolize the root chakra.

The root chakra creates the base for the other chakras. For this reason, flowers that have a strong root system are ideal symbolic choices. Thus, other flowers associated with the root chakra include hibiscus and begonia. These flowers grow on shrubs, bushes or trees. Using these flowers for visualization will help to anchor your efforts in the world.

Sacral Chakra Flowers
The sacral chakra is often associated with the color orange. In a purified state, the sacral chakra is a violet color. This is the chakra of relationships, creativity and reproduction. Clearly, there are many flowers associated with romance and relationships.

The sacral chakra is also the realm of communication and exchange. Sometimes the sacral chakra is called the seat of the soul. Flowers representing the soul and sacral chakra include the calla lily, crocuses and orange blossoms.

Solar Plexus Chakra Flowers
The solar plexus chakra is connected to both service to others and personal desires. This is the chakra where we get a gut feeling about people, places and events. In the East, the solar plexus is symbolized as a ten-petaled lotus that resembles a sun.

Thus, flowers that resemble the sun are clear winners as solar plexus chakra flowers. Flowers that are golden or yellow are also associated with the sun and the solar plexus. Flowers for the solar plexus chakra include sunflowers, dandelions and daisies.

Heart Chakra Flowers
The fourth chakra is the heart chakra. The heart is the focus of spirituality in many systems, notably Christianity. There are many depictions of Jesus with a heart burning with sacred fire. Other traditions also teach that there is a sacred flame or spark within the heart. In the East, a mystical inner chamber in the heart is known as “Brahma’s Cave.”

The physical organs associated with the heart chakra are the heart itself, the circulatory system and the lungs. As the seat of love and devotion, the heart expresses charity, compassion, and kindness. The heart is also a focus for beauty and culture. The chakra flowers that symbolize the heart include roses, forget-me-nots and camellias.

Throat Chakra Flowers
The throat chakra is connected to creativity and self-expression, as well as the actions of speaking, chanting and singing. This chakra is associated with the neck, thyroid, esophagus, teeth, mouth and the ears. The throat and thyroid are where emotions, intentions, praise and criticism are expressed.

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra or the Vishuddha chakra. In Sanskrit, Vishuddha means “especially pure.” The throat chakra is depicted as having sixteen petals. As the focus of communication, throat chakra flowers often have a bell-like shape. These flowers include tulips, bluebells and foxgloves.

Third Eye Chakra Flowers
The sixth chakra is the third eye, the seat of spiritual vision. The Sanskrit term for this chakra is Ajna, which means “command” or “perceive.” The third eye is associated with clairvoyant abilities, and can be developed with yoga, meditation and the practice of chanting.

According to tradition, water from marigolds may be rubbed on the eyelids to induce visions of fairies. The third eye chakra also plays a strong role in imagination. This connects to lupine flowers whose meaning is “imagination.” Finally, the ancient Greeks believed smelling gardenias would transport one to the Elysium paradise, a place of meaningful dreams and sleep.

Crown Chakra Flowers
The seventh chakra is the crown chakra, the seat of enlightenment, known in Sanskrit as the “thousand-petaled lotus.” According to Eastern traditions, the crown chakra is related to god-consciousness and the divine.

The crown can be viewed as the father, or spirit energy, drawing the mother, or earth energy, from the lower chakras upward.

The predominant colors of the crown chakra are white or gold. Reaching the crown chakra is largely equated with freedom from limitations and the boundaries of time and space. In this way, the crown is a link to the universal.

In addition to the lotus, other crown chakra flowers are sacred magnolias and rhododendrons, the national flower of Nepal.

Chakra Resources:
Learn more about chakra symbols, sounds, meanings and related topics at:
Discover the ancient symbolism, history and mythology of the world’s most beloved flowers at: