A Memorable Look at the Body’s Energy Centers

Kathleen Karlsen
Jan – Feb 2024 • Vol 4, No 8

A colorful and fun way to remember the purpose of each of the seven major chakras is to become familiar with the associated Hindu gods and goddesses. Each chakra pertains to several aspects of life. As a result, multiple gods and goddesses are connected to each chakra. The chakra deities are generally paired as masculine and feminine beings. For the sake of brevity, we’ll take a look at one god and goddess per chakra.

Understanding the Gods and Goddesses
The stories of the gods and goddesses of Hinduism can generally be viewed as religious parables, legends, or mythology. In some cases, the chakra gods and goddesses are based on the lives of historical persons. They can also be seen as personifications of specific qualities. The gods and goddesses exist at multiple levels: psychological, spiritual, mythological and historical.

Finding a Personal Deity
Perhaps the most significant aspect of relating to a chakra god or goddess is the sense of a personal relationship. Giving devotion to a specific deity can reinforce those characteristics within ourselves. This personal connection helps us to orient and navigate in an unseen realm.

Root Chakra Gods and Goddesses
The root chakra establishes a foundation for the rest of the chakras. The playful elephant-headed god Ganesha is associated with the root chakra. His heavy weight connects him to the energy of the earth. He is the god of overcoming and the master of new beginnings.

The feminine energy of the root chakra is known as the goddess Kundalini. This is the energy that enlivens all of life, the unformed energy of the universe. The goddess Kundalini is a specific reference to the energy coiled like a snake at the base of the spine. This energy is drawn upwards to the crown by spiritual practices.

Sacral Chakra Gods and Goddesses
The sacral chakra is associated with the Hindu god Vishnu and the goddess Parvati. Vishnu and Krishna are incarnations of the same energy: the preservation of all realms of existence.

Parvati is the Hindu goddess of fertility, love and devotion. This connects her to the sacral chakra as the seat of reproduction. She is the gentle and nurturing aspect of the goddess energy, perhaps akin to a hearth goddess.

Solar Plexus Chakra Gods and Goddesses
The solar plexus chakra is associated with the god Rudra and the goddess Lakshmi. The solar plexus is the fire center, often symbolized by yellow or a sun-like image. Rudra is a form of Shiva, usually depicted as scarlet in hue and having three eyes. This is a form of Shiva that annihilates desire and wrong action.

Lakshmi is the goddess of wealth, fortune and prosperity. Her name is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning goal, aim or sign. In addition, Lakshmi is usually shown seated or standing on a lotus. The lotus symbolizes creation, beauty, harmony, diversity, stability, and support.

Heart Chakra Gods and Goddesses
One of the main deities associated with the heart chakra in Hinduism is Hanuman. Hanuman is the amazing monkey-faced god who features prominently in the Hindu epic the Ramayana.

He is an Eastern superhero, perhaps akin to Superman, Spiderman, or Batman in the West. He is a joyful figure, blessed with both agility and strength, known for loyalty and devotion. These specific qualities associate him with the heart chakra.

The goddess Kuan Yin is also associated with the heart chakra. She appears in East Indian sutras (scriptures) as well as in Tibetan Buddhism. In some sects, she is synonymous with the Buddha Avalokitesvara. Kuan Yin embodies compassion, the primary quality of the heart. Kua